Results: Ayer Rail Trail 5K/10K

Ayer Rail Trail 5K/10K
Ayer, MA
Monday, May 25, 2015
Weather: 70 degrees, muggy, no wind, and a few mosquitoes
(Training race, not judged)

The next New England Walkers training race will be Sunday, June 14th at Danehy Park, Cambridge MA–5K,10:30am start, no entry fee, no DQs.

5 Km
1. Brian Savilonis        33:03
2. Charlie Mansbach   35:57
3. Tom Knatt               37:24
4. Annie Montgomery  41:42
5. Joanne Harriman    46:10

1. Ed O’Rourke           59:12
2. Maegan Allen          59:17
3. Bob Keating            61:12
4. Nolan Allen             62:13

Thanks to Ed O’Rourke and Tom Knatt for organizing the event, and Bill Harriman for timing.

2015 Ayer Rail Trail start DSCN0425

Results: 2015 Londonderry Invitational

2015 Londonderry Invitational
Londonderry High School, Londonderry, NH
May 23, 2015
Weather: Sunny, 55 degrees, windy

Girls 1500 M Race Walk
1. Allen, Maegan           Arlington MA   6:57.00
2. Vaitones, Valentina   12 Pinkerton   7:37.75
3. Bickford, Haley          Gorham ME    8:02.07
4. MacGilvary, Isabelle   09 Pinkerton  9:21.60

Boys 1500 M Race Walk
1. Allen, Nolan             Arlington MA     7:11.53

Judges: Vera Vaitones, Todd Bickford, Rich McElvery
Special thanks to Ed Vaitones for coordinating this event and the Londonderry coaching staff for their support and help to set this up.

Londonderry start DSCN0411 cropped

Results: Seacoast USATF-NE Grand Prix Race Walk

Seacoast USATF-NE Grand Prix Race Walk
Portsmouth High School, Portsmouth, NH
Sunday, May 17, 2015
Weather: Sunny, mild, mid-to-upper 60s, with a slight breeze.

Thanks to the volunteers who counted laps and staffed the water stop. And also thanks to our sponsors, Runner’s Alley and Seacoast Dreams Dentistry, both of Portsmouth.

1 Mile
1. Val Vaitones (18)        8:53
2. Justin Trott (19)       10:19
3. Vera Vaitones (19)    13:19

1. Moira Burgess (14)    19:05.4

5000m Open
1. Kayla Allen (16)         26:30.6
2. Maegan Allen (16)     27:45.7
3. Nolan Allen (15)        28:19.2

5000m Masters
1. Ed O’Rourke (53)        26:23.4
2. Stephan Mayeux (50)  30:59.5
– Pamela Faltin                DNF

Judges: Tom Knatt, Tom Menendez, Ed Vaitones, Steve Vaitones
Timer: Justin Kuo

1-Mile & 10000m Added to Seacoast USATF-NE Grand Prix Race Walk!

1-Mile and 10000m events have recently been added to the Seacoast 3000m/5000m in Portsmouth NH on Sunday, May 17th. The 1-Mile is open to novices and athletes under the age of 18.

The Seacoast USATF-NE GP Race Walk is hosted by the New England Walkers. We welcome anyone interested in the sport of race walking. Please come! If you can’t compete consider helping out–lap counters are always needed.

Entry form: S3K-5KEntryForm15

Next USATF-NE RW GP Event: Seacoast 3000m/5000m RW, May 17th

The first outdoor (snow-free) USATF New England Race Walk Grand Prix event of 2015 will be the Seacoast 3000m and 5000m Racewalk on Sunday, May 17th in Portsmouth NH.
Hope to see you there!
Entry form: S3K-5KEntryForm2015

New England Walkers’ Maegan Allen Sets MA 1 Mile Record

New England Walkers very own Maegan and Nolan Allen of Arlington, MA each competed the 1 Mile Race Walk at the New Balance Indoor Championships last Saturday. The race was held at at The Armory in New York City, and included the top high school race walkers in the nation.

Maegan placed 6th with a 7:22.43, setting a Massachusetts and New England scholastic indoor record, in a talented field where the national record was broken by Ashleigh Resch of Ohio. Nolan finished his race with a respectable 7:54.82.

The New England Walkers would also like to recognize our local race walkers from Maine and Connecticut: Kayla Allen, Sydney Sirois, Spencer Dunn, and Jonathan Lazor for their participation.

For the complete results go to

Pepperell Rail Trail 8K Rescheduled to September 27th

The last section of the Rail Trail won’t be cleared of twigs and debris in time for the April 12th date, since this winter has been particularly brutal. Consequently, the Pepperell Rail Trail 8K has been postponed to Sunday, September 27th. We are hoping to make it a annual fall race in the future.

Results: USATF New England Indoor Track & Field Championships

USATF New England Indoor Track & Field Championships
Harvard University, Boston, MA
Sunday, February 22, 2015

Women 3000 Meter Race Walk
1.   Kayla Allen                 Unattached                          14:55.43
2.   Sydney Sirois             Unattached                          14:59.36
3.   Maegan Allen             New England Walkers           15:26.90
4.   Holly Lindoe               Franklin Pierce University     16:08.87
5.   Siana Emery              Unattached                           18:49.07
—    Moira Burgess           Unattached                           DNF
—    Valentina Vaitones     New England Walkers           DNF

Men 3000 Meter Race Walk
1.   Edward O’Rourke II     New England Walkers        15:36.02
2.   Stephen Peckiconis     Cambridge Sports Union    16:53.82

Mixed 13-18 1 Mile Race Walk Youth Mile
1.   Nolan Allen                 New England Walkers          7:50.81
2.   Alessia Caira              Waltham Track                      9:14.11

2015 USA Track & Field New England Race Walk Grand Prix

Results: Third Mass. Scholastic Invitational Race Walk Championship

Third Mass. Scholastic Invitational Race Walk Championship
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Reggie Lewis Center, Boston
Hosted by USA Track & Field – New England

Girls 1 Mile Race Walk
1. Holly Lindoe            Franklin Pierce              7:36.21
2. Maegan Allen          New England Walkers    7:46.27
3. Valentina Vaitones   New England Walkers   8:33.17

Boys 1 Mile Race Walk Scholastic
1. Nolan Allen              New England Walkers   7:55.98